C-22 Keel winch... HELP!!!

Here you can discuss Chrysler Sailing across all makes of Chrysler sailboats.
rjbranch

C-22 Keel winch... HELP!!!

Post by rjbranch »

Ok, I'm not a genius first off, but I'm no mechanical dummy either. But I cannot figure out how to make the keel winch lower the keel. The boat is on the trailer and I cannot get it to let out any line. The boat has not been in water for about 8 years so I am guessing there is a corrosion issue. Could someone tell me how its supposed to work?

bob branch
donbohio

Keel Winch - Don't Panic!

Post by donbohio »

When you push the handle to let it out does the handle and the winch move? If not push a little harder. There is no switch to release so it is based on a clutch in the winch. I was too gentile thinking I might break it. It takes some preasure to release the clutch and lower the cable. Since the winch is exposed you should see the cable become relaxed when you move the handle.
Regards,

Don

donbohio
rjbranch

woa... too fast there

Post by rjbranch »

Ok, I'm still not clear. Does the handle turn in both directions? Which way lowers and which raises? Do you crank it down or does it free spool?

bob branch
slidejob

Post by slidejob »

Let me take a stab at this...The handle is turned in the clockwise direction to raise the keel, and in the counter clockwise direction to lower it. Naturally, it will be easier to lower than to raise the keel due to the weight. It will not freewheel if you release the handle--there is friction both ways, so you will make about 50 rotations to fully lower the keel.

Actually, the winch is rather cleverly designed.
rjbranch

winch.... and onward.

Post by rjbranch »