C-22 bilge pump

Here you can discuss Chrysler Sailing across all makes of Chrysler sailboats.
dubbinchris

C-22 bilge pump

Post by dubbinchris »

I know this should prob be in the elecrical section but there doesn't seem to be much traffic there.

I'm fairly new to C22 ownership and the one I got last month needs some things. One thing is a bilge pump. There are remnanats of an old pump siliconed to the inside of the hull in the area below the cockpit. It's just the base and what's left of an old float switch. I gentle tug and it all came up. I'm not sure what area to call that of the boat, but I'm not sure I would technically call that the bilge. It was located as far forward as it would go against that psudo bulkhead.

Questions....

Is that where the pump is on most C22's? How is it normally secured? How is it plumbed and where does it exit the hull?

There is a 3/4" hole going from that area into the fuel locker very close to the rudder tube. I was thinking of trying to get some kind of 3/4" bulkhead hose connector, but the hole is so close to the rudder tube that I'm not sure I can.

You can see it here...

And a closer photo of it....

mcrandall
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by mcrandall »

The area under the cockpit is known as the coffin. Climb under there and see if you don't agree that it is aptly named!

Others have commented on bilge locations, but the coffin is quite a ways upground of the boats lowpoint, near the keels hingepin.
Mark
http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc4 ... ew%20C-22/
1975 C-22 currently named Stardust (soon to be "Angela Marie")
Careyr

bilge pump

Post by Careyr »